Arthur A. Levine Books
Arthur A. Levine Books 



Memory of Light, The Memory of Light, The

Written by Francisco X. Stork

This beautiful novel from the author of Marcelo in the Real World about life after a suicide attempt is perfect for fans of It's Kind of a Funny Story and Thirteen Reasons Why.

Vicky Cruz shouldn’t be alive.

That’s what she thinks, anyway – and why she tried to kill herself. But then she arrives at Lakeview Hospital, where she meets Mona, the live wire; Gabriel, the saint; E.M., always angry; and Dr. Desai, a quiet force. With stories and honesty, kindness and hard work, they push her to reconsider her life before Lakeview, and offer her an acceptance she’s never had.

Yet Vicky’s newfound peace is as fragile as the roses that grow around the hospital. And when a crisis forces the group to split up – sending her back to the life that drove her to suicide – Vicky must find her own courage and strength. She may not have any. She doesn’t know.

Inspired in part by the author’s own experience with depression, The Memory of Light is the rare young adult novel that focuses not on the events leading up to a suicide attempt, but the recovery from one – about living when life doesn’t seem worth it, and how we go on anyway.



REVIEWS:

“Vicky’s story has undeniable emotional strength and an encouraging, compassionate message. Stork writes his characters with authenticity and respect, from their inner lives to their economic and cultural backgrounds… Highly rewarding.” -- Booklist, starred review

“Stork writes sensitively about Vicky’s journey from near death to shaky recovery, discussing his own experience with depression in an afterword….Various studies have estimated that perhaps as many as one in five teens has a diagnosable mental health problem; it’s a subject that needs the discussion Stork’s potent novel can readily provide.” -- Publishers Weekly, starred review

“From her darkest moments to welcome comedic respites to Emily Dickinson's poetry, Stork remains loyal to his characters, their moments of weakness, and their pragmatic views, and he does not shy away from such topics as domestic violence, social-class struggles, theology, and philosophy. Following Schneider Award-winning Marcelo in the Real World, Stork further marks himself as a major voice in teen literature by delivering one of his richest and most emotionally charged novels yet.” -- Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Stork’s depiction of depression deftly avoids the traps of preaching or romanticizing and instead is accurate, heartbreaking, and hopeful. A beautiful read that adds essential depth to the discussion of teens and mental illness." -- School Library Journal, starred review

"If clinical depression is not the same as sadness, then what is it? Francisco X. Stork examines this question with the same grace, eloquence and respect found in all of hiswriting for young adults." -- Chicago Tribune

"Partially inspired by his own experiences, Stork imbues his characters with honest pain and humor, lending truth to their struggles with such issues as mental illness, class tensions, domestic violence, grief, and survival." -- Horn Book

"Stork has written a very powerful story. Vicky is a relatable character with problems and issues that many teens will understand and possibly even deal with in their own lives. Stork does a great job of building all of the characters, working through all of Vicky’s issues and troubles, and bringing awareness to not only depression but also mental illness in general. The Memory of Light deals with different dark and intense issues, but it is appropriate for a wide age range of teens. This is a great addition to all library collections." -- Voice of Youth Advocates



BUY THIS BOOK:

Scholastic Store
Amazon.com
Barnes & Noble
Indie Bound



Spring 2016
Young Adult Fiction
ISBN: 978-0-545-47432-0
Price: $17.99/$22.99
Trim Size: 5-1/2" x 8-1/4"
Page Count: 336
Foreign Rights: Scholastic
Translation Rights: Faye Bender Literary Agency
Rights Available? yes



ALSO SEE:


Irises


Last Summer of the Death Warriors, The


Marcelo in the Real World


Home | News | This Season | Bookshelf | Arthur's Blog
About Us | About Arthur | FAQ | Submissions | Contact Us

© 2001 - 2005 Arthur A. Levine Books All Rights Reserved


cialis prijs cialis kopen viagra voor vrouwen kamagra kopen viagra prijs

oakley solbriller mont blanc kuglepen michael kors tasker ghd glattejern ghd fladjern

kamagra acheter levitra ou cialis cialis generique viagra prix viagra 50mg kamagra en ligne kamagra avis viagra acheter kamagra pharmacie cialis lilly levitra acheter kamagra pas cher viagra pas cher cialis sans ordonnance viagra en ligne lovegra avis viagra generique cialis 20 kamagra 100 cialis original viagra ou cialis viagra sans ordonnance levitra pas cher cialis en ligne kamagra 100mg